News Cover Story

Latest News and Events

BJP Announces Lucknow Choices : Rita Bahuguna’s Son and Aparna Yadav Left Out

Over the last state elections, the BJP won a total of the 9 seats within Lucknow.

After much deliberation, the BJP announced today contenders for all 9 Lucknow seats. Aparna Yadav who is the daughter-in-law of the earlier chief minister and Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, as well as Mayank Joshi, BJP MP Rita Bahuguna Joshi’s son. They are both from Lucknow, were left off the list.

Rajeshwar Singh, an earlier Enforcement Directorate official whose voluntary retirement was approved by the union government today, has been granted the party’s Sarojini Nagar seat ticket for assembly. Swati Singh, the state’s minister of state for women’s welfare, and Dayashankar Singh, her husband, were both interested in the position.

Mr. Joshi and Ms. Yadav had hoped to be nominated for the Lucknow Cantonment seat of high-profile, but it was granted to state minister Brijesh Pathak. The party considers this to be a safe seat. Within the last election, Rita Bahuguna Joshi won Aparna Yadav for this seat.

Rajneesh Gupta, the contender from Lucknow Central, has already been announced. From February 10 to March 7, the state shall hold elections in 7 segments.

Aparna Yadav, the daughter-in-law of Mulayam Singh Yadav, while Mayank Joshi who is the son of BJP MP Rita Bahuguna Joshi, were pushed out of the high-profile race for Lucknow Cantt before the important assembly elections when the BJP selected its candidates.

The BJP has placed former Enforcement Directorate officer Rajeshwar Singh, after his voluntary retirement was approved by the Union government, in the Sarojini Nagar seat, that was being targeted by state minister for women welfare Swati Singh as well as her spouse Dayashankar Singh.

Elections will be held in seven stages in Uttar Pradesh. The initial phase of the UP elections 2022 shall take place on February 10, with the second, third, as well as fourth phases taking place on February 14, 20, and 23, respectively. Polling will take place on February 27th, March 3rd, and March 7th, respectively, for the fifth, sixth, as well as second phases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *